Finals spots are up for grabs in the penultimate round of the 2012-13 WADCCI First Grade competition which takes place with two days of cricket this weekend.

Indeed, Round 10 results will be decided by Sunday, on an exciting weekend where the top six make-up will become a lot clearer, with the likes of Scarborough, Subiaco Floreat, Willetton, Bayswater-Morley, Mount Lawley and even Fremantle still in the hunt.

Meanwhile, the race for the Kevin Sullivan Silver Cup heats up with the ladder leaders Melville weakened for their clash with finals hopefuls Mount Lawley, due to Luke Towers and Ryan Duffield being called up for WA duty.

A Melville slip-up could open the door for either third-placed Joondalup or second-placed Claremont-Nedlands who meet at Iluka this weekend in the game of the round.

Joondalup coach Ric Olsen, who will be without Australian Under-19s batsman Jaron Morgan due to a shoulder injury, said the game was "like a final".

"They (Claremont-Nedlands) are the kind of side you want to come up against and you want to perform well against," Olsen said.

The Centurions will also be without strike bowler Denver D'Cruz who will play in the Seconds as he makes his way back after a shoulder problem. Olsen said he was "not far away" from a First Grade return.

The Tigers welcome back Travis Birt in a boost to their batting line-up after his stint with Khulna Royal Bengals in the Bangladesh Premier League.

Game of the Round:

Joondalup (3rd, DWWWW) v Claremont-Nedlands (2nd, WWWLW), Iluka

Joondalup: Michael Swart (c), Randall Starr, James Newnham, Clint Tomlinson, Josh Anderson, James Boyland, Nishant Singh Shekhawat, Garrick Morgan, James Sprague, Josh Inglis (wk), Clint Hinchliffe

CN: John Bryant, Hayden Parsons, Daniel Turkich, James Allenby, James Roberts, Tim Macdonald (c), Chris Brabazon, Steve Eskinazi (wk), Nicholas Hobson, Jeremy Swan, M. Kelly, Travis Birt

University (16th, LLLLL) v Fremantle (9th, WWLWW), James Oval

The Port Boys thrashed Willetton last weekend and if they can claim another outright win at University they are still a chance to make the finals. However, they'll be without Warriors Mitch Marsh, Michael Hogan and Tim Armstrong, who made a positive impact last week. Young all-rounder Ashton Turner will be buoyed by his debut half-century for WA in the RYOBI Cup on Tuesday.

Uni: Team not supplied

Freo: Tim Miles, Tom Triffitt (wk), Matthew Milton, Ashton Turner (c), Daniel Kennedy, Adam Feeney, Ross Macauley, Chris Davenport, J. Heath, C. Wood, Tim Armstrong, Mitchell Marsh, Michael Hogan

Mount Lawley (8th, DLLLW) v Melville (1st, WWWWW), Breckler Park

The Hawks take on ladder leaders Melville at a good time, with the Storm without key duo Ryan Duffield and Luke Towers as they are playing for WA in the Bupa Sheffield Shield but the visitors do welcome back Ben Edmondson after his stint in Bangladesh ended. Mount Lawley ground out a draw against Joondalup last week, with Tom Beaton relishing the batsman-friendly conditions at Breckler Park. They'll be without Matt Dixon, though, due to a season-ending knee injury.

ML: Shane Rakich (c) (wk), Julien Goodall, Tom Beaton, Luke Douglas, Andrew Winton, Paul Davis, James Baverstock, Dylan Sharman, Charles Lill, Simon Douglas, D. Ferry

Melville: Tom Scollay, Drew Porter (c), Ryan James, Ben Brown, Thomas Kerr-Sheppard, Ben Clarke, Andy Greig (wk), Myles Keyt, Matt Bowdler, Sean Terry, Ben Edmondson

Bayswater-Morley (7th, LLWWW) v Midland-Guildford (10th, WWWWL), Hillcrest

After last week's loss to Scarborough, the Bears' finals hopes are on the line at home to the in-form Swans, who will be without key fast bowler Burt Cockley who is with the Warriors. Captain and last round's centurion Stewart Walters will be a key, while overlooked Warriors duo Marcus North and Nathan Rimmington will be keen to impress for Bayswater-Morley, with the WA selectors looking favourably on good District performances.

BM: Team not supplied

MG: Stewart Walters (c), Stephen Parry, Phillip Adams, Tom Casey, Scott Baker, Daniel Susana, Zac Howard, Vivian Jones (wk), J. Baker, J. Wood, D. Moody

Willetton (6th, LWWLL ) v Scarborough (4th, WLLLW)

The Dragons were disappointing last round, going down outright to Fremantle and need to bounce back. However, the Gulls showed they remain a top-six force, dispatching of Bayswater-Morley last week. Simon Mackin is a big absentee for the Dragons.

Dragons: Kallen Bond, Cameron Bancroft (wk), Reece O'Connell, Kris Elliot (c), Aaron McCall, James Godfrey, Stephen Ball, Blake Hall, Kalan Joyce, Alex Hepburn, Sean Brennan

Gulls: Simon Branston, Justin Coetzee, Clint Heron (c), Andrew Tye, Andrew Cameron, Ty Hopes, Jeremy Boyle (wk), Andrew Rule, Nick Jones, J. Wood, Shreyans Jain, Marcus Harris

Rockingham-Mandurah (11th, LWLWL) v South Perth (15th, LLLLL), Cresswell Park

The big news in this contest between two sides set to miss the finals is the return of Warriors spinner Michael Beer for South Perth after a shoulder injury. With the finals appearing out of reach for the Mariners they've given a few opportunities to new players.

RM: Brayden Sutton (wk), Craig Simmons (c), Josh Smith, Chris Loveridge, Jayden Derosa, Tony Coulson, Ben Wright, L. Mead, J. Rogers, D. Hagan, Sam Whiteman, D. Cortland

SP: Hugh Brown (c), Aaron Brunner, Hilton Cartwright, Connor Ryan (wk), Michael Beer, Blake Reed, Simon Ringrose, Tom Leaver, Marshall Hood, Antony Radunovich, A. Penter

Subiaco Floreat (5th, WLLLW) v Wanneroo (13th, LLWLL), Floreat Park Oval

The Lions revived their finals hopes with last round's win over Gosnells and they can reinstate their top-six status against the struggling reigning premiers. Subi will be without skipper David Bandy who is over east for a wedding, while Jason Behrendorff (hip) and Nathan Coulter-Nile (groin) have injuries. Roos bowler Jack Cattrall has been training with WA this week and will take confidence from that.

Subi: Alex Malcolm (c), Steven Glew, Chris Hansberry, Anthony Murphy, Matthew Thomson, Glenn Stockden, Calum How (wk), Ashley Blake, Aaron Lilly, Liam Davis, Ben Hansberry, Stefan Collins

Roos: Anthony Del Borrello (c), Joel Charles, Jake Fawcett (wk), Christopher Quelch, Robert Richards, Jack Cattrall, Kyle Millar, Alex Burton, Gary Atkinson, J. Miller, C. Smith

Gosnells (14th, LWLWL)v Perth (12th, WLWWL)

These two lowly sides will battle it out as they look ahead to next season. Gosnells welcome back Matt Leipold but have lost their star performer of the season, Luke Proctor, as wellas Michael Bailey who is at the Imparja Cup. Perth have brought in Michael Grzinic and Josh Nicholas.

Gosnells: D'Arcy Short, Anthony Caddy (c), Craig Jensen (wk), Matthew Goes, Brett Bayley, Matt Hanna, Derek Bland, Blair Dalton, R. James-Buckley, Matt Leipold, D. Marijanich

Perth: Christiaan Moir (c) (wk), Andrew McLean, Jacob Snadden, Royce Blight, Jack McIver, Luke Jury, Angus Webster, Matthew Spriegel, James McAuliffe, Michael Grzinic, J. Nicholas