Schools | Secondary Schools Competitions
Competition Outline
The secondary schools cricket competitions are open to all secondary school aged children and are conducted by the Western Australian Cricket Association (WACA) together with the Western Australian Schools Cricket Council (WASCC). The Kim Hughes Shield is the premier schools cricket competition in WA.

The competition's purpose is to provide WA secondary school students with an opportunity to participate in formats of cricket suited to all levels of ability. It is also designed to encourage schools to foster good sportsmanship and embrace the spirit and values of cricket in their school and community.
2014/15 Editions coming soon. 

School Competitions
  • MILO T20 Blast School Cups
For: Years 7/8/9 boys and girls

A modified T20 format with boys and girls teams competing in a carnival day. This competition is aimed at students who want to enjoy a fun and exciting version of cricket and may not have played before.

Schools compete in regional Inter School Cups, with the winners progressing to the State Finals. For more information, contact your local CRICKET OFFICER.

Geoff Marsh & Peta Verco
For: Years 10-12 Boys and Girls
    • South Carnival - TBC
    • North Carnival - TBC
    • Rockingham/Mandurah Carnival -TBC
A modified T20 format with boys and girls teams competing in a carnival day. The winning teams from each region progress to a finals tournament. 

Note: Confirmation of the above carnivals will be dependent on the number of teams participating. A Minimum of four girls and four boys teams must be participating for the carnival to go ahead.  

Prize Money: Champions $125, Runners up $75
Geoff Marsh Shield 2013/14
Runners Up
South Carnival
Corpus Christi College
Kelmscott SHS
Rockingham Mandurah
Mandurah Catholic College
Frederick Irwin Anglican School
Peta Verco Shield 2013/14
Runner Up
South Carnival
Kelmscott SHS
Corpus Christi College
Frederick Irwin Anglican School Emmanuel Catholic College

Graeme Wood Shield
For: Years 10 - 12
  • Rounds 1-3 -  TBC
  • Knockout - TBC
  • Quarter Finals - TBC
  • Semi Finals & Finals – TBC
This competition sees a large number of metropolitan and regional schools compete in a popular T20 format competition in honour of the prolific Test opener. Teams are required to arrange the matches themselves in an allocated week, however the semi finals and final are organised and hosted by the WACA.
Prize Money: Champions $200, Runners up $150
2013/14 Champions: Mazenod College
                 Runners Up: Mater Dei COllege
Kim Hughes Shield
For: Generally top cricketers in Years 10 - 12
  • Rounds 1-3 - TBC
  • Quarter Finals - TBC
  • Semi Finals - TBC
  • Grand Final – TBC
A limited overs competition contested by both metropolitan and regional schools in the south west corner of the state. The state's top cricket schools annually take part in the competition.
Prize Money: Champions $400, Runners up $250
2013/14 Champions: Kent Street Senior High School
                 Runners Up: Bunbury Cathedral Grammar

WA Schools Representative Match
Associated Catholic Colleges vs Government Secondary Schools
Venue: WACA
Date: TBC