Melville & Bears Into One Day League Final
29 January 2013  

KMPG Statewide T20 finalists Melville and Bayswater-Morley will meet again in the decider of the 50-over One Day League on Sunday 10 February after both won through to the final on Sunday.

The Storm accounted for Rockingham-Mandurah, who were also T20 semifinalists, by 124 runs at Lark Hill on Sunday.

Meanwhile at Hillcrest, the Bears were too good for Claremont-Nedlands on Sunday, triumphing by 97 runs.

Melville, who are top of the First Grade table and already won the T20 competition, were too strong for the Mariners, with opener Luke Towers making an impressive 76 as they made 8-262 from their 50 overs after Rockingham-Mandurah skipper Craig Simmons had won the toss and sent them in to bat.

Sean Terry and Tom Scollay both fell cheaply, but Towers anchored the innings while there were good contributions from Mark Turner (43), who hit three sixes, and Matthew Bowdler (31*) too, with Simmons the best of the bowlers with 2-40 from his 10 overs.

In reply, Drew Porter and Tom Kerr-Sheppard got rid of the openers to leave Rockingham-Mandurah 2-5 early in the piece and they never recovered.

Myles Keyt claimed the important wicket of Simmons for 15 off 29 deliveries, while Tony Coulson (28) and Ben Wright (29) showed the most fight for the Mariners, but it was in vain as Tom Scollay (3-34) came into the attack to clean up the tail.

At Hillcrest, Tim McDonald took two early wickets before Nathan Rimmington made an excellent 64, while Ryan Phillimore and Grant Thistle provided good support as they managed 206.

Despite the average score, the Bears' attack were too good, with T20 final man-of-the-match Ross Loiacono taking 3-27 as the Tigers were rolled for just 109, with Nick Hobson offering the only resistance with an unbeaten 41.

The Storm and Bears will now face off in the decider on Sunday 10 February at the WACA Ground.

The Colts final will be held on Sunday 17 February at a neutral venue, between Joondalup and South Perth.
Bayswater-Morley 206 (Rimmington 64, Phillimore 43; McDonald 2-13, Allenby 2-26) def Claremont-Nedlands 109 (Hobson 41*; Loiacono 3-27, O'Connor 2-4, M. Todd 2-30)

Melville 8-262 (Towers 76, Turner 43; Simmons 2-40) def Rockingham-Mandurah 138 (Wright 29; Scollay 3-34, Keyt 2-23, Kerr-Sheppard 2-24)