WADCCI Round 10 Preview: Marsh Returns
8 February 2013  

Mitch Marsh's return to action is the big story of the weekend, while Mike Hussey will be back at Wanneroo in the WADCCI First Grade Competition this Saturday.

Warriors all-rounder Marsh returns after several months out with a hamstring injury, but won't bowl for Fremantle when they take on Willetton at Burrendah Reserve. Marsh will likely bat at number four for the Port Boys.

Fremantle coach Joe Piromalli said Marsh had trained with the Port Boys on Thursday night and looked good.

"He's looking forward to getting back to cricket. He hasn't played for a long time so he's excited," Piromalli said.

Fremantle will also be boosted by the availability of Shaun Marsh, along with the in-form Tim Armstrong and Tom Triffitt.

Willetton are coming off a huge outright win over South Perth and will happily welcome back Simon Mackin after he played with the WA Futures side.

However, the game of the round comes from Breckler Park, where Mount Lawley will be desperate to end their run of three straight losses which has seen them slip out of the top six. The Hawks will come up against the impressive Joondalup who aren't as dangerous away from Iluka but are still very imposing.

The Hawks have turned to youngsters in a bid to arrest their slide, with Dylan Sharman, Charles Lill and Simon Douglas (the younger brother of Luke) given a chance.

Hawks director of coaching Brendan Reid said all three had been consistent in the seconds and deserved their chance.

The Hawks have a tough run home, with clashes with Melville and Scarborough to follow this round, coming off the back of their defeats to Claremont-Nedlands and Wanneroo.

"In the final five rounds we are up against five of the top sides and we wanted to win three of those games to help our finals push," Reid said.

"We've lost the first two, so we need to win at least two or three now. We need to get going now."

Game of the Round:

Mount Lawley (7th, LLLWW) v Joondalup (2nd, WWWWL), Breckler Park

ML: Shane Rakich (c) (wk), Julien Goodall, Tom Beaton, Luke Douglas, Andrew Winton, Matt Dixon, Paul Davis, James Baverstock, Dylan Sharman, Charles Lill, Simon  Douglas

Joondalup: Michael Swart (c), Randall Starr, James Newnham, Clint Tomlinson, Josh Anderson, James Boyland, Nishant Singh Shekhawat, Garrick Morgan, Jaron Morgan, James Sprague, Josh Inglis (wk), Clint Hinchliffe

Willetton (5th, WWLLL ) v Fremantle (14th, WWLWW), Burrendah Reserve

This game will gather plenty of interest with Marsh's return from injury, while the inclusion of his in-form brother surely gives Freo the edge. Willetton are pushing for the finals and have the attack to do some damage, with Simon Mackin, Aaron McCall, Stephen Ball and Blake Hall.

Dragons: Kallen Bond, Dane Crognale, Cameron Bancroft (wk), Reece O'Connell, Kris Elliot (c), Aaron McCall, Matt Maguire, Simon Mackin, James Godfrey, Stephen Ball, Blake Hall

Freo: Ryan Shuttleworth, Tim Armstrong, Tim Miles, Tom Triffitt (wk), Matthew Milton, Ashton Turner (c), Ross Macauley, Shaun Marsh, Mitchell Marsh, J. Richardson, J. Heath, Michael Hogan, Christopher Wood

Scarborough (6th, LLLWW) v Bayswater-Morley (4th, LWWWL), Abbett Park

Both sides are coming off defeats which have put their top six hopes in question, so they'll be desperate to get back on the winners' list. Nick Jones is back for Scarborough in a boost to their bowling options, while Marcus North adds battling strength for the Bears.

Gulls: Simon Branston, Justin Coetzee, Marcus Harris, Clint Heron (c), Andrew Tye, Andrew Cameron, Ty Hopes, Jeremy Boyle (wk), Andrew Rule, Abhishek Kumar, Nick Jones

BM: Simon Allison (c), Michael Thistle, Aaron Todd (wk), Robert Guy, Liam O'Connor, Marcus North, Mitchell Todd, Kyle Francis, Sam Baird, Jake Lewis, Ross Loiacono, Nathan Rimmington, in; R.Phillimore, Marcus North

Claremont-Nedlands (3rd, WWLWW) v South Perth (15th, LLLLW), Cresswell Park

This match sees one of the contenders take on one of the battlers but the Tigers will be without Joel Paris who injured his heel on Warriors duty, while James Taylor has left to join the England Lions tour. Youngster Matt Kelly gets a chance, while South Perth lose promising batsman Tom Leaver for the first weekend as he'll be in Brisbane with the Australian Under-18 Squad.

CN: John Bryant, Hayden Parsons, Daniel Turkich, James Allenby, James Roberts, Tim Macdonald (c), Chris Brabazon, Steve Eskinazi (wk), Nicholas Hobson, Jeremy Swan, M. Kelly

SP: Hugh Brown (c), Aaron Brunner, Hilton Cartwright, Connor Ryan (wk), Michael Beer, Blake Reed, Simon Ringrose, Tom Leaver, Marshall Hood, Antony Radunovich, R. Ovens, A. Penter, N. Mitchell

Midland-Guildford (11th, WWWLL) v Wanneroo (10th, LWLLW), Lilac Hill

Mike Hussey has been named for Wanneroo while John Rogers returns after Warriors duty too. Burt Cockley has been in superb form for the Swans, helping them to three successive wins and now they face the reigning premiers who need a win to keep alive their finals hopes. Jake Fawcett will take the gloves with Brian Shields absent.

MG: Chris Pivac, Stewart Walters (c), Burt Cockley, Stephen Parry, Phillip Adams, Tom Casey, Scott Baker, Daniel Susana, Zac Howard, Vivian Jones (wk), J. Baker

Roos: Anthony Del Borrello (c), Joel Charles, Jake Fawcett (wk), Christopher Quelch, Robert Richards, Jack Cattrall, Kyle Millar, Alex Burton, Gary Atkinson, John Rogers, Mike Hussey, J. Miller

Melville (1st, WWWWW) v Rockingham-Mandurah (8th, WLWLL), Tompkins Park

The Storm continue to charge towards the minor premiership and next up they host the midtable Mariners. Sean Terry is out but Melville, who will play in the One Day League final on Sunday, have no shortage of quality. Rockingham-Mandurah will have Sam Whiteman fully available in a boost.

Melville: Tom Scollay, Luke Towers, Drew Porter (c), Ryan Duffield, Ryan James, Ben Brown, Thomas Kerr-Sheppard, Ben Clarke, Andy Greig (wk), Myles Keyt, M. Bowdler

RM: Sam Whiteman (wk), Brayden Sutton, Craig Simmons (c), Josh Smith, Chris Loveridge, Daniel Whiting, Jayden Derosa, Tony Coulson, Ben Wright, J. Marion, L. Mead

Gosnells (13th, WLWLL) v Subiaco Floreat (9th, LLLWW ), Sutherlands Park

Subiaco Floreat's shock loss to Midland-Guildford last round has left them in danger of missing the finals, so this is a key game for them. They welcome back Warriors' Liam Davis and Jason Behrendorff  along with Alex Malcolm in a major boost. Gosnells are without star man Luke Proctor too.

Gosnells: D'Arcy Short, Anthony Caddy (c), Luke Proctor, Craig Jensen (wk), Matthew Goes, Michael Bailey, Brett Bayley, Matt Hanna, Derek Bland, Blair Dalton, B. Norwood, R. James-Buckley

Subi: David Bandy (c), Steven Glew, Chris Hansberry, Anthony Murphy, Matthew Thomson, Glenn Stockden, Calum How (wk), Ashley Blake, Aaron Lilly, Liam Davis, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Alex Malcolm

Perth (12th, LWWLW) v University (16th, LLLLL), Fletcher Park

The Demons' loss to the Mariners last week was a major setback for their finals hopes so they'll aim for an outright win against struggling Uni. Perth are unchanged despite last round's loss, while Uni have made a series of changes.

Perth: Christiaan Moir (c) (wk), Andrew McLean, Jacob Snadden, Paul Nicholas, Royce Blight, Jack McIver, Akash Fotedar, Luke Jury, Angus Webster, Matthew Spriegel, James McAuliffe

Uni: Joshua Mangan (c), Andrew Holder, Cameron Huckett, Aaron Vincec, David Vernon, Will Bosisto, Ashton Agar, Craig King, Scott Marshall (wk), Sam  Armstrong, Michael Smith, S. Fox, R. Broom