Cricket network logo
Team Logo Team Logo Team Logo

Clubs and Volunteers

Volunteer of the Year Awards

Volunteers are integral to the fabric of cricket in Western Australia. Without the dedication, commitment and passion of the thousands of volunteers who give up their time each year, community cricket would not exist.

Cricket volunteers take on roles ranging from coaching kids, keeping score and umpiring, running the canteen, keeping the finances in check or leading clubs. If we had to pay for the hours these volunteers work, the sport would not survive. 

There are many reasons why people put their hand up to volunteer. They may want to support their kids, give back to the community or they simply love cricket and want to help. Regardless of the motivation, volunteering can often be a thankless job. While most of our volunteers don’t put their hand up to be recognised, it is important to stop and say thank you.

To complement and build on existing volunteer recognition initiatives, the WACA’s WA Cricket Volunteer of the Year Awards provide a wonderful opportunity to celebrate and thank the work of our tremendous volunteers.

Awards categories

  • Young Volunteer of the Year – Female
  • Young Volunteer of the Year – Male
  • Toyota Country Volunteer of the Year - Male
  • Toyota Country Volunteer of the Year - Female
  • Volunteer of the Year - Male
  • Volunteer of the Year - Female

Winners of each category will receive a prize and framed certificate. All nominated volunteers will receive a certificate in recognition of their dedication and service to cricket.

Nomination criteria

There are no overarching criteria to guide nominations. Clubs and associations may decide who to nominate based on a range of criteria, such as length of service, number of roles, exceptional time commitment or innovation.

  • To be nominated for Young Volunteer of the Year in the Male and Female categories, nominees must be aged 21 years or under.
  • To be eligible for the Country Volunteer of the Year, the nominee must reside in a country region recognised by the Country Cricket Board and have lived there for a minimum of 12 months.
  • To be eligible for the Male or Female Volunteer of the Year categories, the nominee must volunteer at a WACA affiliated club or cricket association in Western Australia.

How to nominate

Nominations in each category are now open. Submit your nominations here by 31 December 2018.

Awards function

A Volunteer of the Year Awards Day will be held at Perth Stadium on January 28, 2019 when the Perth Scorchers take on the Melbourne Renegades. Finalists in each category will be invited to an exclusive pre-match function at the Stadium and then be able to stay and enjoy the game in the Black Swan Room as guests of the WACA CEO, Ms Christina Matthews, and WACA Chair, Hon Dr Ken Michael AC.


For any questions regarding the awards or nomination process, please contact Danny Andrews