Cricket network logo
Team Logo Team Logo Perth Scorchers

Female Cricket

Growing Cricket For Girls Fund


The Growing Cricket for Girls (GCG) Fund was established by Cricket Australia in partnership with the Commonwealth Bank to support access to, and development of, girl's competitions at the community cricket level across Australia. The GCG funding is aimed at supporting community cricket associations, school sporting associations, cricket clubs and secondary schools to develop new girls' competitions and grow established competitions to encourage girls to play cricket. 

The GCG funding provides increased opportunities for girls to get involved in cricket and to experience a friendly and inclusive environment and assists in supporting the WACA's vision is to continually grow female participation and ensure all participants are exposed to the best possible playing experience at all levels throughout the pathway.

Since the introduction of the GCG Fund, the Perth Scorchers Girls League (PSGL) competition has grown immensely, with 22 girls' teams submitted into the PSGL competition and an additional four new girls' competitions starting in WA in 2016-17.

The initiative has gone from strength to strength in year two, with an additional two new associations and 30 clubs entering a team into the competition, enabling the WACA to reach over 100 girls teams and six new PSGL competitions, including:  

  • Midland Guildford U13s 
  • Peel U13s
  • Northam U15s
  • Esperance U13s
  • Albany U15s
  • Geraldton U15s

APPLICATION PROCESS

Applications for funding are made by completing a GCG application development form and submitting it to your Regional Cricket Manager before the closing date. 

Download the form

See below application opening and closing times:

ROUND ONE

  • Applications open: Monday 12 March 2018
  • Application close: Friday 13 April 2018

ROUND TWO

  • Applications open: Monday 2 July 2018 
  • Applications close: Monday 30 July 2018 

GUIDELINES

Funding can only be used in Western Australia to start a Perth Scorchers Girls League competition or enter a team into an already established competition.

In addition to the Guidelines set by Cricket Australia, the WACA requires clubs and associations to meet the following guidelines to ensure we continue to take a holistic approach to girl's cricket which focuses on the complete pathway.  

This below document outlines the funding conditions clubs and associations need to achieve to be successful in receiving the funding.

Download Growing Cricket for Girls Funding allocation of money. 

CONTACTS

Metro

Region

Regional Cricket Manager

Number

Email

Eastern suburbs

James Hewitt

0411 056 598

james.hewitt@waca.com.au

Northern suburbs

Niki Andonovski

0433 509 591

niki.andonovski@waca.com.au

Western suburbs

Leah Morrison

0414 274 935

leah.morrison@waca.com.au

Midland Guildford

Cameron Douglas

0419 856 482

cameron.douglas@waca.com.au

South-east suburbs

Corey O’Brien

0419 938 669

corey.o'brien@waca.com.au

South-west suburbs

Emily Johnston

0433 273 097

emily.johnston@waca.com.au

Peel

Brodie Green

0411 056 578

brodie.green@waca.com.au

Country

Region

Regional Cricket Manager

Number

Email

Mid-west

Ryan Hosking

0429 107 963

ryan.hosking@waca.com.au

Regional south-west

Rachel Norman

0422 939 172

rachel.norman@waca.com.au

Great Southern

Callyn Bennett

0417 175 767

callyn.bennett@waca.com.au

Wheatbelt

Melinda Lucas

0429 201 216

melinda.lucas@waca.com.au

Goldfields

Chris Secker

0428 423 809

chris.secker@waca.com.au

Pilbara/Kimberley

Andrew Hayes

0411 056 573

andrew.hayes@waca.com.au