Despite playing only playing nine List A matches, the 21-year-old's first-class form has been impressive.

Green averaged 52.23 with the bat and 21.53 with the ball from his 17 first-class matches.

He was unable to bowl last summer due to stress fractures in his back, but even as a batter-only he has proven to be a match-winner.

In his most recent Sheffield Shield match, Green scored 197 for WA against NSW.

Green has been ramping up his bowling loads at training over recent weeks, and he could be ready to play as a legitimate all-rounder in the three ODIs and three T20s against India.

Joining Green is team mates Ashton Agar and Marcus Stoinis. Agar became the second player in the past 10 years to score a first-class century and take a five-for in WA's opening 2020-21 Sheffield Shield victory over South Australia.

Having already scored an unbeaten 114 with the bat, Agar claimed figures of 5-103 to help WA bowl SA out for 314.

The ODI series gets underway in Sydney on November 27.

National selector Trevor Hohns said;

"Cameron's domestic form has been outstanding and he has carried it through for Western Australia this summer. As a potential player of the future this is an opportunity for him to be part of the squad and build on his experience," he said.

Mitch Marsh, who sustained an ankle injury in the Indian Premier League, was considered but after taking advice from team medical staff it was decided the most appropriate return to play program for him would potentially be through the Australia A side.

“Mitch will commence some low intensity fitness and skills in the coming weeks and selectors are hopeful of his return to play in the Australia A fixtures in early December and then for him to be fully fit to perform his role in the side as an all-rounder,” Hohns said.

The selectors are likely to bring Marsh back through the Australia A side for the tour matches.

Australia squad: Aaron Finch (capt), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Daniel Sams, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa