Ashton Agar has retained his contract, while Jhye Richardson and Cameron Green are the big winners, having both earned national contracts for the first time.

Allrounder Green has been elevated to his first full contract after playing all four Tests against India last summer and leading all-comers in the Marsh Sheffield Shield with 922 runs at 76.83, including three centuries.

National Selector Trevor Hohns said the rise of Cameron Green this season was exciting for the future of Australian cricket.

“Cameron is a player we believe will play an important role for Australian cricket after his impressive breakout summer,” Hohns said in CA’s media release.

"His 84 in the second-innings against India at the SCG demonstrated excellent technique and resolve and we are confident his bowling will be impactful at international level. His domestic form was also outstanding, and we expect he will only get better with more international exposure.”

Quick Richardson showed why he is one of Australia’s brightest fast bowling prospects with one of the most dominant Big Bash League seasons in the competition’s history and has been duly rewarded with a national contract.

“Jhye Richardson is a player we believe has a big future across multiple formats and his return to the game has been strong,” Hohns said.

Spinner Agar has established himself as one of the best T20 bowlers on the planet, and was named the Men’s T20 Player of the Year at the Australian Cricket Awards in February.

While WA stars Mitch Marsh and Marcus Stoinis missed out, they remain firmly in selectors’ sights and can still receive contract upgrades over the course of the season by earning selection in national teams.

“The NSP continues to hold Mitchell Marsh and Marcus Stoinis in high regard and expect that they, and many others across Australian Cricket, will continue to make strong cases for national selection next season.”

Players need to accrue 12 upgrade points to earn a contract, with Tests worth five points, ODIs two points and T20s one point.

Cricket Australia Contracted Men’s Players List 2021-22

Ashton Agar (Western Australia)

Alex Carey (South Australia)
Pat Cummins (New South Wales)
Aaron Finch (Victoria)
Cameron Green (Western Australia)
Josh Hazlewood (New South Wales)
Marnus Labuschagne (Queensland)
Nathan Lyon (New South Wales)
Glenn Maxwell (Victoria)
Tim Paine (Tasmania)
James Pattinson (Victoria)
Jhye Richardson (Western Australia)
Kane Richardson (South Australia)
Steve Smith (New South Wales)
Mitchell Starc (New South Wales)
David Warner (New South Wales)
Adam Zampa (New South Wales)