Headlining the WA inclusions is talented Bunbury all-rounder Jayden Goodwin, son of Zimbabwe international Murray Goodwin, who boasts extraordinary skills with the bat as well as bowling handy leg spin.

The WA skipper is averaging a remarkable 347 at the national champs, following scores of 76*, 64, 93* and 114.*

Gosnells products Brodee Foster and Jacob Wagenknecht have also been rewarded with call ups to the squad.

Wagenknecht is a towering fast bowler standing at 198 centimetres, 6 foot 6 in the old, and boats remarkable swing and bounce

The squad features 39 of the country’s most talented male teenage cricketers, aged between 15 and 17, who are eligible for this summer’s Under 17 Male and Under 19 Male Championships.

A number of players across the country who starred at underage level and have come through the pathway, have since progressed to representing their state in JLT Sheffield Shield or JLT One-Day Cup cricket.

“The CA Pathways Rookie Squad is now entering its fourth season, it gives our emerging male players the opportunity to develop both as cricketers and young men,” CA Pathways Manager Graham Manou said.

“It’s a chance for them to get specialist support at both a State and National level from a skills perspective, and also in areas such as their off-field education. A select group will then take part in a high performance camp at the Bupa National Cricket Centre in 2019.

“This year’s squad – like those in previous years – contains some really exciting young players, and we hope this program continues to assist their holistic development.”

The squad is selected by the Youth Selection Panel, which includes CA’s National Talent Manager Greg Chappell, High Performance Program Head Coach Troy Cooley and Pathways Manager Graham Manou, and the State and Territory Talent Managers.

This year’s the group has been reduced from 53 to 39, with the decision made not to include the 14 players selected in the Australia Under 16 side as per previous years, due to that squad having its own development program.

Western Australian’s in the squad: Brodee Foster (Gosnells), Jayden Goodwin (Colts), Michael Herbst (Wanneroo), Ewan Neilson (Melville), Jacob Wagenknecht (Gosnells)