It will be a rematch of last year’s Final, with Bunbury looking to go one better after WA Invitational XI took home the 2018 Country Cup.

WA Country Cricket Board Chair Rob Marshall said everyone can expect a very high-quality match.

“If last year is anything to go by, we are all expecting a very high-quality game of cricket,” Marshall said.

“WA Invitational XI won last year’s Country Cup but last Sunday Bunbury defeated them in the last qualifying match, so the tables could turn!”

The Belt-up Country Cup has evolved over the years, a previously open event for associations around regional Western Australia is now an invitation-only competition.

The competition consists of the top three associations south of Perth which are selected by the WA Country Cricket Board. These are BDCA, Albany Cricket Association and the Peel Cricket Association.

The fourth team, the WA Invitational XI, is made up of the best cricketers from the associations that don’t have a team in the competition.

The last few weeks have seen the teams compete in a round robin tournament to decide who will compete in the big dance this Sunday.

Mr Marshall said the Belt-up Country Cup Final means a great deal to all the players involved.

“The Country Cup means absolutely everything to our country cricketers. There is no greater reward then having the opportunity to play on the hallowed turf of the WACA Ground,” he said.

“For those who’ve played long country cricket careers like me, you cherish those very rare opportunities. It is one of the biggest moments in a country cricketers’ career by a long shot.”

The best performers over the Belt-up Country Cup Series will be selected for the State Country Team and will travel to Toowoomba for the 2020 Toyota Australian Country Cricket Championships in January.

Bunbury and District Association
Clint L Hewson
John Richardson
Jacob C Templeton
Justin D Woods
Thomas Buchanan
Cruize Ciallella
Brayden Clarke
Bradman May
Michael Tassone
Blair Malatesta
Jacob Wintle
Josh Topliss

WA Invitational XI
Julian Crudeli (c)
Lewis Parsons
Lincoln T Joy
Benjamin Sherry
Perrin Quartermaine
Grady Francis
Aaron J McAuliffe
Daniel Gollan
Aaron Burrage
Calum How
Bevan Bennell
Damien A Burrage
Ben A Payne

Match Details:
10.00am - Welcome Presentation
10.30am - Coin Toss
11.00am - Innings 1 Start Time
Lunch - At the change of innings
2.45pm - Innings 2 Start Time
End of Match - Match Presentations