More than 400 people attended WA Cricket’s night of nights at Crown Perth to recognise the State’s most valuable performers of 2018-19 and the legends of the game.


Shaun Marsh’s strong batting form in the JLT Sheffield Shield saw him claim the Laurie Sawle Medal, along with the Western Warriors Domestic Four Day Player of the Year award.

The left-handed veteran scored 443 runs, averaging 88.60 across his six innings, highlighted by an unbeaten 163 that helped steer WA to a five-wicket victory against South Australia. 

Marsh also claimed his third consecutive media-voted Gold Cup trophy following a strong international season in which he averaged 38 across all formats, including
two centuries and three half centuries.

Heather Graham was one of the most consistent performers over the 2018-19 season, compiling 455 runs and claiming 33 wickets across the Women’s National Cricket League and Rebel Women’s Big Bash League to claim her second Zöe Goss medal.

The talented 22-year-old became the first player in WNCL history to score a ton and take three wickets in a match, during WA’s win over New South Wales, which earned her the Western Fury WNCL Player of the Year award.

Graham also came away with the WBBL Player of the Year award, taking the most wickets (22) in the competition backed by best figures of 3-25.


The night also saw the first ever female inducted into the WACA Gallery of Greats - WA player, coach and administrator Olive Leslie.


Joining Leslie was towering fast-bowler Jo Angel who was the State’s leading Sheffield Shield wicket-taker with 419 when he retired in 2004.

Ashton Turner was awarded the Simon Katich medal for his stellar performance for the Scorchers, banking 378 runs.

Nathan Coulter-Nile was crowned Warriors Domestic One Day Player of the Year with nine wickets and best figures of 3-46.

Rising Star awards were picked up by Western Fury batter Amy Edgar and Warrior Josh Philippe.

Current WA skipper Chloe Piparo took out the values-based Legacy award, while Mitch Marsh and Matt Kelly were named joint winners of the Excalibur award. 

WACA Media Awards







Ken Casellas Award (Most Outstanding Cricket Coverage)

Steve Butler

The West Australian

Best Print/Online

Steve Butler

The West Australian

Best TV News

Steve Allen

10 News First

Best Radio Broadcast

Clint Wheeldon

ABC News

Best Photo

Richard Wainwright


Cricket in Community

Tom Wildie

ABC News

Women in Cricket

Adrian Barich

7 News Perth