It is an extremely disappointing result for our Members, fans and our cricket community that WA will miss out on hosting international cricket fixtures this summer.

The WACA worked tirelessly with Cricket Australia and the WA Government to find a way to bring international cricket to Perth.

Limitations with border restrictions, and complexities around scheduling as a result of COVID-19, led to the decision to play the three-match ODI series at the Sydney Cricket Ground (November 27 and 29) and Canberra’s Manuka Oval (December 2).

We are dealing with circumstances and obstacles beyond our control. We respect and understand that difficult decisions need to be made to ensure our country can secure as much international cricket as possible this summer.

With world-class facilities and the opportunity for cricket fans to attend matches we maintain that WA is well-prepared to host BBL matches this summer and we will continue to work closely with Cricket Australia and the WA Government on this.

I want to thank our Members, Commercial Partners, fans and the WA cricket community for their patience and continued support during these challenging times.

We have been overwhelmed with the flood of support from our Members, with close to 5,000 Members renewing their affiliation with WA Cricket this season despite the situation we currently face.

We have developed a range of revised options for our Members to consider for the season ahead and remain focussed on delivering and supporting a safe cricket season for all.


Dettol ODI Series v India                                                                                                          
First ODI: Friday, November 27 – Sydney Cricket Ground (Day-Night)
Second ODI: Sunday, November 29 – Sydney Cricket Ground (Day-Night)
Third ODI: Wednesday, December 2 – Manuka Oval, Canberra (Day-Night)

Dettol T20 INTL Series v India
First T20: Friday, December 4 – Manuka Oval, Canberra (Night)
Second T20: Sunday, December 6 – Sydney Cricket Ground (Night)
Third T20: Tuesday, December 8 – Sydney Cricket Ground (Night)

Vodafone Test Series v India

First Test: December 17-21 – Adelaide Oval (Day-Night)
Second Test: December 26-30 – Melbourne Cricket Ground
Third Test: January 7-11 – Sydney Cricket Ground
Fourth Test: January 15-19 – The Gabba, Brisbane

*The matches and travel remain subject to any relevant government restrictions or requirements.