The Under 15s Shield has been named the John McGuire Shield, with the Under 17s Shield named the Ted Hussey Shield.

Originally from Northam, John McGuire played 21 seasons with the Mount Lawley District Cricket Club and two seasons with the Willetton District Cricket Club, winning six First Grade Premierships during that time. He also captained the Australian Aboriginal team which toured England in 1988.

McGuire compiled 10,004 First Grade runs at 36.24 across his career to make him the second highest all-time leading run scorer, tallying 15 First Grade centuries, 55 half-tons and a highest score of 199 not out. McGuire also played over 100 games in the WAFL and was a member of the 1978 East Perth WAFL Premiership team.

The late Edward (Ted) Hussey, father of respected cricketers Michael and David, was a long-term administrator for the Wanneroo District Cricket Club and WADCC and was a passionate advocate of junior cricket development.

Hussey passed away in 2014, leaving a lasting impression on the Premier Cricket community.

WADCC Chair Christian Bauer said the Council was delighted to pay tribute to McGuire and Hussey through the naming of the two trophies.

“John is one of the most significant players and people in the history of Premier Cricket and we’re proud to be able to recognise his contribution through this honour,” Mr Bauer said

“Ted was an outstanding administrator and mentor to so many young people. In recognising Ted, we are also paying tribute to the many volunteers who give of their time in our competitions.”

Western Australian Cricket Association (WACA) President and Chair Dr Ken Michael AC said it was a wonderful tribute to two worthy stalwarts who had made significant contributions to Premier Cricket.

“The WACA is extremely supportive of the WADCC’s decision to name the trophies after John McGuire and Ted Hussey and believe the long-lasting gesture is testament to the men’s contribution to our great game,” Dr Michael said.

Nominations for suitable candidates were sought from the state’s 16 Premier Clubs, with a final decision approved by the WADCC at its meeting on Tuesday 20 February 2018.