A winner in 2012-13, the veteran all-rounder polled 16 votes to edge Brad Hope (15 votes) at the WA Premier Cricket awards night held at the WACA Ground on Friday 12 April.

The crafty left-arm orthodox spinner took out the WA Premier Cricket wicket-taker title with 53 wickets at an average of 14.30 for the season.

The 36-year-old’s highlight of the season came during the Mariners Round 13 victory clash against Mount Lawley where he posted best figures of 7-79.

This season saw Simmons smack three half-centuries, including an uncharacteristic 60 from 95 balls against Midland-Guildford before Christmas.

Simmons strong leadership was also recognised on the night after he was announced captain of the WADCC Team of the Year.

Simmons led his team to their second First Grade Grand Final in four seasons, but unfortunately fell short to Claremont-Nedlands who were announced premiers.

Award Winners

Best Pitch Award: Floreat Park Oval – Subiaco Floreat Cricket Club
Most Improved Pitch Award: Iluka Sports Complex (Oval 1) – Joondalup Districts Cricket Club
Allan Mackley Medal (4th Grade): Brett McGlade (Joondalup)
Albert Ritchings Medal (3rd Grade): Dayne Ferry (Bayswater-Morley)
JP Robbins Medal (2nd Grade): Ryan Done (Rockingham-Mandurah)
Olly Cooley Medal (1st Grade): Craig Simmons (Rockingham-Mandurah)
Best 4th Grade Umpire: Nathan Gilders
Best 3rd Grade Umpire: Graham Zemunik
Best 2nd Grade Umpire: Mervyn Rudrum
Best 1st Grade Umpire: Matthew Hall
Peter McConnell Award: Ashlee Gibbons
Allan Edwards Trophy: Aaron Hardie (Willetton)
Senior Coach of the Year: Jason Thompson (Perth)
Premier Club Administrator of the Year: Stuart McKenzie (Subiaco Floreat)
Senior Spirit of Cricket Award: Fremantle
Media Guild Award – Under 17’s Player of the Year: Jayden Goodwin (Bunbury)
Media Guild Award – Under 19’s Player of the Year: Connor Smith (Perth)
Media Guild Award – Rising Star Award: Brad Hope (Claremont-Nedlands)
WADCCI Team of the Year: Jake Carder (Fremantle), Travis Birt (Wanneroo), Brad Hope (Claremont-Nedlands), James Bracey (Rockingham-Mandurah), Christopher Sabburg (University), Craig Simmons (C) (Rockingham-Mandurah), Andrew Bottega (WK) (Mount Lawley), Josh Nicholas (Perth), Jack Cattrall (Wanneroo), Corey Rocchiccioli (University), Liam Stevens (Scarborough) and Chris Prescott (Gosnells)
1st Grade Batting Average: Brad Hope (Claremont-Nedlands)
1st Grade Batting Aggregate: Brad Hope (Claremont-Nedlands)
1st Grade Bowling Average: Jack Cattrall (Wanneroo)
1st Grade Bowling Aggregate: Craig Simmons (Rockingham-Mandurah)
Kevin Sullivan Silver Cup: Rockingham-Mandurah
First Grade Premiers: Claremont-Nedlands
Second Grade Premiers: Perth
Third Grade Premiers: Perth
Fourth Grade Premiers: Joondalup
One Day League Premiers: Claremont-Nedlands
Premier T20 Premiers: Melville
Club Champions: Perth

WADCCI Team of the Year