The 23-year old’s selection comes off the back of just 13 List A matches and 32 appearances in the KFC Big Bash League.

Joining Philippe are the centrally contracted pair Mitch Marsh and Ashton Agar, alongside Marcus Stoinis, D’Arcy Short and Andrew Tye.

With final details of the proposed tour still to be confirmed, CA said the preliminary squad was an important step as part the organisation’s determination to do whatever is necessary to be ready.

Marsh and Agar played all six matches of Australia’s last limited overs tour to South Africa back in February, while ODI incumbent Short will be looking to build on the momentum from his maiden ODI half-century in Bloemfontein.

Stoinis, named in the team of the tournament for both the Marsh One Day Cup and BBL|09 by last season, will be eager to win back a spot in the national team.

Andrew Tye’s 2019-20 season was restricted to just the five Marsh Cup matches but the veteran has successfully returned from an elbow injury and will be thrilled with the opportunity to press his case for an international tour.

Pace duo Jason Behrendorff and Jhye Richardson were not considered due to injury.

Cricket Australia’s Executive General Manager of National Teams Ben Oliver said;

“The ECB are a long-standing and valued international cricket partner and we are doing all we can to give the tour the best possible chance of taking place.

“We continue to work with the ECB and government agencies and a decision on the tour will be made in due course.

“In the meantime, the identification of a preliminary list will enable us to work with players and states more directly on the preparation for the tour in the hope it can proceed.

“The health and wellbeing of players and staff, along with our commitment to public health within our communities, remain our utmost priority.”

Australia's preliminary squad: Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Michael Neser, Josh Philippe, Daniel Sams, D’Arcy Short, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa