The squad was selected following the Under 15 Talent Carnival in December, which was played at Trinity Grammar School’s playing fields in Waterford.

The side will be coached by former Olly Cooley medalist and New Zealand International Brendon Diamanti and Talent Specialist, Lindsay Flinn.

Northern suburbs batsman Aryan Varsani is one to watch, the Wanneroo product put together a memorable Talent Carnival scoring 223 runs at an average of 74.3 which included a magnificent hundred on the first day.

Varsani is one of four returning players who played in the Under 15’s National Championships last year, he returns alongside Scarborough’s George Pullinger and Mitch Barron and Rockingham-Mandurah’s Teague Wyllie.

Barron will lead the bowling attack, the Scarborough quick bowls a heavy ball and will provide the side with some invaluable lower order hitting.

Joining the returning players are the two leading run scorers in the Under 15 John Maguire Shield.

Perth’s Ben Scotson has scored 311 while Willetton’s Olivier Brehaut has amassed 298 runs at an average of 149 and are both exciting additions to the squad to head to Queensland.

WACA Talent Development Manager David Fitzgerald said this group of players performed very well in the Talent Carnival and have been consistent performers in Premier Cricket this season.

“It’s a very well balanced group, we have a number of players who are strong with both bat and ball, so we’ll have the benefit of being able to bat very deep,” Fitzgerald said.

“It’s exciting for our guys to get to match themselves against the best players in the country.

“The boys will play six games in eight days, so they’ll learn a great deal during the tournament about how to prepare and recover, which is a great learning curve at such a young age.

“I think we’ve got a group of players who will perform very strongly and I’m excited to see what they can do.”

The tournament gets underway on Thursday 7 February.

Follow #WESTISBEST on Twitter and Instagram for all the latest results.

WA U15 Team

Mitchell Barron Scarborough
Rhett Bazzo Rockingham-Mandurah
Olivier Brehaut Willetton
Regan Hill Perth/Wheatbelt
Luke Holt Willetton
Hayden Kain Midland-Guildford
Gustav McKeon Bayswater-Morley
George Pullinger Scarborough
Ben Scotson Perth
Aryan Varsani Wanneroo
Elijah Ward Armstrong Bayswater-Morley
Corey Wasley Rockingham-Mandurah
Teague Wyllie Rockingham-Mandurah