Scarborough all-rounder Cooper Connolly will captain the side, which boasts a talented top order and athletic bowling line up.

Western Australian Cricket Association Talent Development Manager, David Fitzgerald, said the squad has the quality to be more than competitive at this years competition in Mackay, Queensland.

"We’re excited about the selected squad, that has been well lead by Head Coach Brendon Diamanti and Assistant Coach Wayne Andrews," Fitzgerald said.

"We have seen the players embracing the WA cricket values at the Under 17’s camp and throughout the program, while also developing their technical skills and match awareness.

“The top order batsmen have had a great preparation and scored heavily in the lead up practice matches, and I’m looking forward to seeing how they go against the opposition bowlers.

"There is plenty of depth in our bowling line up, our tall and athletic quicks can generate good bounce, while we also have some quality spinners that will trouble opposition batters.

"Cooper (Connolly) is a number three bat and an up and coming left arm spinner and he’ll play a big role in the tournament for us.

“His leadership is improving all the time and I think he is a great prospect for WA cricket in the future.

"Riley Mattingly is our wicketkeeper-batsmen who is really embracing the WA cricket values.

“He is training hard and working with other squad members to help improve their games, and I am excited to see what he can produce during the tournament.

"Young guns Teague Wyllie and Luke Holt have been selected in the Cricket Australia Under 16 team, they’ll play against us and the other states at the national champs which is a great advertisement for the WA cricket pathway."

Western Australia will play six 50-over matches, starting on Monday 30 September until Thursday 10 October.

WA Under 17's Squad:

Cooper Connolly (Captain) Scarborough
Sharad Jessani Wanneroo
Nathan Bothma Subiaco Floreat
Riley Mattingley Claremont Nedlands
Alex Chew Scarborough
John Sanders Willetton
Keegan De Koker Fremantle
Tom Shepherd Scarborough
Jake Egan Bayswater Morley
Hayden Stumpers Wanneroo
Cameron Fawcett Mt Lawley
Aryan Varsani Wanneroo
Blair Walsh Willetton
Regan Hill Perth

Head Coach: Brendan Diamanti
Assistant Coach: Wayne Andrews