Thornlie Cricket Club’s David King and Vicki-Lee Pride from Doubleview Carine Junior Cricket Club took out the Metropolitan Volunteer of the Year awards.

David, who currently fulfills the roles of Director of Cricket, Selector, Registrar, MyCricket Administrator, Junior Coach and Player at Thornlie CC has been instrumental in the Club’s on-field success with all five senior teams making finals and four being grand finalists.

Awarded Life Membership of Thornlie CC 2012, David has worked tirelessly to improve the culture and inclusivity at the Club which has included implementing the Good Sports Program.

Vicki has played a vital role in the growth of women and girls cricket at Doubleview Carine JCC through her role as Club Secretary, Girls Coordinator and Social Media Marketer.

Vicki has helped strength the Club’s ties with its local school community which has resulted in healthy participation growth and the retention of player across it’s indoor cricket and Term 1 Master Blasters programs.

In the country, the awards went to Newman Cricket Association volunteer Jono Smaill and Adele Given from Leschenault Cricket Club.

Jono took on the role of Club President during a time when the Club was dealing with the damaging impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic. He worked tirelessly to form a new Committee and drive participation across the junior and senior teams.

The leadership and communication skills Adele exhibited in her roles as Club Secretary, MyCricket Administrator and Social Media Coordinator have contributed to creating a truly family-centred Club that is a 'cricket-magnet' in its local regional community.

The Young Volunteer of the Year award went to Collingwood Park Cricket Club Secretary and Communications Officer Jarrod Hansen who has led many important projects at the Club including a volunteer program, updating the Player Code of Conduct, Child Safety Framework, as well as supporting live scoring across all grades at the Club.

Geoff Parkinson was awarded Life Membership of the Community Junior Cricket Council at the event, while Bentley Cricket Club Treasurer and Committee Member Lloyd Dungey and Perth Cricket Club u17s Assistant Coach Phil Rigg were presented with Service to Cricket Awards for their outstanding 50 years of service to the game.

WACA Community Cricket General Manager Jo Davies said volunteers are vital to the fabric of our cricket communities across the State.

“Congratulations to every finalist and award winner at the annual WA Community Cricket Awards, it’s well-deserved recognition for the incredible outcomes you’ve achieved within your local communities.

“Each and every one of you are an inspiration and it’s exciting to know we have so many dedicated people driving innovation, and positive change at our local cricket clubs to ensure our sport is safe, fun and inclusive for all.

“Thank you for all your efforts over what has been a very challenging and unique season, and I look forward to working alongside you all as we continue to grow the game at the grassroots level, and develop the next wave of elite cricketers in season 2021-22.”


Metropolitan Volunteer of the Year – Male
David King - Thornlie Cricket Club

Metropolitan Volunteer of the Year – Female
Vicki-Lee Pride - Doubleview Carine Junior Cricket Club

Country Volunteer of the Year – Male
Jono Smaill - Newman Cricket Association

Country Volunteer of the Year – Female

Adele Given - Leschenault Cricket Club

Young Volunteer of the Year
Jarrod Hansen - Collingwood Park Cricket Club

Junior Community Cricket Club of the Year
Mandurah Junior Cricket Club

Senior Community Cricket Club of the Year
Lesmurdie-Mazenod Cricket Club

Country Cricket Club of the Year
Leschenault Cricket Club

Community Partnership of the Year
Kingsley Woodvale Junior Cricket Club

Advancing Cricket for Females Award
Geraldton Regional Cricket Board

Inclusion and Diversity Award

Bateman Junior Cricket Club

Junior Community Cricket Coach of the Year
Tom Westwood - Noranda Junior Cricket Club

Woolworths Cricket Blast Coordinator of the Year
David Anderson - Subiaco Marist Junior Cricket Club
James Gardner - Armadale Cricket Club

School Ambassador of the Year

Blake Anderson - Georgina Molloy Anglican School (Busselton)