Next weekend’s final in Sydney will be the first time WA has qualified for the Championship since the 1999-2000 season and they last won the national championship in 1986-87, under the previous Australian Women’s Cricket Championship format.   

Today’s game saw Queensland win the toss and send WA into bat, opener Chloe Piparo was dismissed for 13 off 20 at the hands of Sammy-Jo Johnson (3-44(9)).

Captain and Player Of The Match Elyse Villani joined vice-captain Nicole Bolton at the crease to help put more runs on the board before Bolton was dismissed (40 off 58) by Johnson.

Heather Graham was next up at the crease, she was later dismissed for 14 off 25 by Georgie Prestwidge (1-12(4)).

But Villani continued to dominate through the innings, smashing 13 fours to help bring her side up to 5-194 but just fell short of a century after she was dismissed by Delissa Kimmince (1-44(6)), Villani finishing on an impressive 91 off 108 deliveries.

The wickets of Amy Jones (25 off 29) and Megan Banting (three off six) later fell leaving the Fury 6-198 after 42 overs before the Fury were all out in 48.3 overs.

The second innings saw the Fury’s Piepa Cleary (1-29(8)) dismiss the key wicket of Beth Mooney for just one run in the second over to leave Queensland 1-5. 

Kate Cross (2-46 (10)) then took the wicket of Grace Harris (28 off 24), Delissa Kimmince fell for 8 after she was caught and bowled by Heather Graham (4-31(8.3)), Graham struck again in the 25th over, dismissing Captain Kirby Short (40 runs off 55 balls). 

Taneale Peschel (2-29 (5)) made the breakthrough for the Fury in the 43rd over, taking the wicket of Johnson, leaving Queensland 7-180, needing 43 runs off 42 balls.

But thanks to wickets by Peschel, Graham and Bolton (1-17(5)) the Fire were all out for 191 in 46.3 overs to hand the Fury their first Finals berth in almost 20 years.

WA will take on NSW in the WNCL Final on Saturday at Blacktown International Sports Park.