The young gun’s season began with Player of the Final and Tournament honours in WA’s victorious Cricket Australia Under-17 National Championships campaign in October 2019, where he led the side with 264 runs at 66 and 14 wickets.

Connolly then starred as a 16-year-old playing for the Cricket Australia XI at the Under-19 National Championships and earned selection in Australia’s squad for the ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup 2020 in South Africa.

Meanwhile, the WA Women’s team swept all before them in the 2019-20 Women’s National Cricket League (WNCL) and claimed the Channel Seven Perth Team of the Year award.

The WNCL title was 33 years in the making for the WA Women, who hadn’t lifted the Ruth Preddy Cup since the 1986-87 season under the previous Australian Women’s Cricket Championship format.

WA Cricket affiliates were celebrated for their efforts off the field too, with Grant Edgar and the Bassendean Junior Cricket Club both named winners in their respective categories.

Edgar, whose service to Premier Cricket through the Fremantle District Cricket Club has spanned over half a century, was named joint winner of the Roobix Service to Sport – May Campbell Medal.

The Bassendean Junior Cricket Club was awarded the RAC Insurance Beyond Sport John Gilmour Medal for their partnership with Brightwater Oats Street Brain Injury Rehabilitation Centre.

The partnership with Bassendean JCC provides the clients of Brightwater an opportunity to acquire further skills, in the hope that they will gain greater independence and transition back into the workforce, by running the canteen at Bassendean Junior Cricket Club on Saturday mornings.

WACA CEO Christina Matthews said;

“Congratulations to all winners and finalists on thoroughly deserved recognition of their efforts and achievements both on and off the field.

“Our WA Women’s team enjoyed a remarkable season and to break a 33-year title drought was an exceptional effort, while there’s no doubting Cooper Connolly is a talent to keep an eye on.

“Volunteers have always been the heartbeat of community cricket in WA and we’re thrilled to see Grant Edgar’s incredible service recognised with the May Campbell Medal.

“Similarly, the work Bassendean Junior Cricket Club put into their partnership with Brightwater is inspiring and we’re proud of the role cricket can play in positively influencing the wider community.”

WA Cricket winners:

Cooper Connolly – Hyundai Junior Sports Star:
WA Women’s Cricket team – Channel Seven Perth Team of the Year
Grant Edgar – Roobix Service to Sport – May Campbell Medal
Bassendean Junior Cricket Club – RAC Insurance Beyond Sport – John Gilmour Medal

WA Cricket finalists:
Ashton Agar – The West Australian RAC WA Sports Star
Lisa Keightley – KPMG Coach of the Year
Wembley Districts JCC – RAC Insurance Community Club of the Year