Cricket network logo
Team Logo Team Logo

Clubs & Associations

WA Community Cricket Awards

Volunteers are integral to the fabric of cricket in Western Australia. Without the dedication, commitment and passion of the thousands of volunteers who give up their time each year, community cricket would not exist.

Cricket volunteers take on roles ranging from coaching kids, keeping score and umpiring, running the canteen, keeping the finances in check or leading clubs. If we had to pay for the hours these volunteers work, the sport would not survive.

The inaugural Western Australian Community Cricket Awards represent a milestone in WA Cricket, bringing together the junior and senior cricket community in a celebration of the hard work and dedication to making our sport safe, fun, inclusive through thriving and successful clubs.

The awards encompass the achievements of volunteers in community clubs across the State, as well as the important school partnerships, and club initiatives.

The WACA received more than 240 nominations across 14 award categories and it gives us great pleasure to announce the winners of the 2019-20 WA Community Cricket Awards.

Volunteer of the Year – Male

Leon Ottobrino - Swan View Cricket Club

Volunteer of the Year – Female
Margie Oldfield - Wembley Districts Junior Cricket Club

Country Volunteer of the Year – Male
Gerard Marquis - Towns Cricket Club

Country Volunteer of the Year – Female
Christy Reed - West Pilbara Junior Cricket Association

Young Volunteer of the Year
Rosie Manning - Bassendean Junior Cricket Club

Junior Community Cricket Coach of the Year
Brad Foote - Bedford Junior Cricket Club

Woolworths Cricket Blast Coordinator of the Year
Giselle Dunlop - Whitfords Junior Cricket Club

School Ambassador of the Year
Graham Jones - Hocking Primary School

Inclusion and Diversity Initiative of the Year

Wembley Districts Junior Cricket Club

Growing Cricket for Women or Girls Award
Doubleview Carine Junior Cricket Club

Community Initiative or Partnership of the Year
Bassendean Junior Cricket Club

Junior Community Cricket Club of the Year
Wembley Districts Junior Cricket Club

Senior Community Cricket Club of the Year
Leederville Cricket Club

Country Cricket Club of the Year
Dunsborough Cricket Club

Congratulations to all of our winners! Your achievements and contribution to community cricket in WA are valued and appreciated by the entire cricket community.

The WACA would like to thank the following representative bodies and committees who have provided strong leadership within the cricket community.

WACA Affiliates
- CricketWest representing Metropolitan Senior Community Cricket
- Community Junior Cricket Council representing Metropolitan Junior Community Cricket
- Country Cricket Board representing Junior and Senior Country Cricket
- WA Veterans Cricket

WACA Advisory Committees
- Western Australia Aboriginal Cricket Advisory Committee
- Western Australian Cricket Education Advisory Committee



For any questions regarding the awards or nomination process, please contact Serena Spadaro,